Home » READING » Classification Of Living Things and Domain System

Classification Of Living Things and Domain System


Living Things – There are countless living beings on this earth. For ease of learning about living creatures the scientists doing the classification of living things based on the similarity of their traits. This grouping is called with “CLASSIFICATION”.

Classification of living things aims to make it easier to recognize the compare and study of living things.

Classification to absorb life based on similarities and differences based,

owned by living beings, for example in terms of body shape body tool functions, or other characteristic traits of living things with the same characteristics are grouped in a single class.

The largest group in the classification is called a kingdom. This means that all the animals are in the Animal Kingdom, and all the plants in the plant Kingdom.

Because the kingdom is the largest group, then inside there is also a group of smaller groups to classify living things based on more specific based again. Sort of living things from the lowest to the highest levels currently used are:


Domain System


The domain system is a new system. Classification of living things initially started from the kingdom. There are three domains of living things in this world are:

1. Archaea

Archaea (Archaea domain) is one of a group of single-celled prokaryotic organisms (i.e., organisms that have no defined nucleus cells) which have different molecular characteristic separates them from bacteria (the Group the other, more prominent than prokaryotes from eukaryotes) as well as

Archaea comes from the word Greece archaios, meaning “ancient” or”primitive,” and indeed some characteristics of archaea shows deserve that name.

Members of the archaea Pyrolobus fumarii, include: who can survive on the temperature to live at 113 ° C (235 ° F) and found living in hydrothermal vents; Picrophilus species, was isolated from acidic soils in Japan and is the most acid-tolerant organisms are known, are able to grow around pH 0; and methanogens, which produce methane gas as a metabolic by-product and found in anaerobic environments such as marshes, hot water, and animals, including humans.

2. Bacteria-Bacteria


In General, the sense of Eubacteria (bacteria) are unicellular organisms(unicellular) and does not have a membrane of the cell nucleus (prokaryotic) generally not has chlorophyll on the wall of his cell.

The term is derived from the Eubacteria of Greece said the EU, which means true.Eubacteria prokaryotic organisms cover most of the life anywhere.

Eubacteria, also known as with Bacteria. The term is derived from bacteria bacterial meaning rods. First, the bacteria found in the year 1674, by a Dutch scientist Antony van Leuwenhoek who is also a single-lens microscope inventor. The term bacteria introduced by Ehrenberg in 1828.

The study of bacteria is known as bacteriology

Characteristic Of Eubacteria (Bacteria)
• generally not has chlorophyll
• varied Forms
• His life generally parasitic or non-pathogens
• Are unicellular (single-celled)
• does not have membrane core or prokaryotic
• Sized between 1 to 5 microns

Types of Eubacteria

Eubacteria (Bacteria) have various kinds of which are grouped in the characteristics of the cell wall, based on the number and location of the flagella, based on a way of life, among othersthe following

3. Eukarya

Eukarya is the domain of the unicellular organisms and multicellular members who have the membrane core (eukaryotic). Is the domain has members very much where members of this domain are the kingdom Protista, fungi, Plantae, and Animalia.

  • The Kingdom Protista: protists are grouped into similar to fungi, protists similar plants, and protists resemble animals
  • The Kingdom Plantae: grouped into briofita (MOSS), Pteridophyta, and Spermatophyta (flowering plants)
  • The Kingdom Fungi: Ascomycota, Basidiomycota are grouped into, Zygomycota, and deutromyco
  • The Kingdom Animalia: grouped into the sponge, Coelenterata, flatworm, aschelminth, Annelida, Arthropoda, Echinodermata, mollusk, and Chordata
The history of the classification of living things scientific began in 1735 and is still growing to this day
linnaeus (1735) : 2 kingdom haeckel (1866) : 3 kingdom chatton (1925) 2 empire copeland (1938) : 4 kingdom whittaker (1969) 5 kingdom woese (1977) 6 Kingdom woese (1990) 3 domain cavalier smith (2004) 6 kingdom
tidak di identifikasi protista prokariot mychota monera eubacteria bacteria bacteria
vegetabilia plantae protista archaebacteria archaea protozoa chromista
eukariot protoctista plantae protista eukarya plantae
fungi plantae fungi
plantae fungi
animalia animalia animalia animalia animalia animalia

Other Collections of Classification Of Living Things and Domain System

Domain systemarchaeaeukaryaclassification of living thingsDomain systemLiving Thingsbacteria